Dedication of Art Room in Honor of 1964 graduate, Bruce Howdle

The Iowa-Grant Educational Foundation (IGEF) recently dedicated the high school's uniquely designed art room in honor of 1964 I-G graduate, Bruce Howdle, who was nationally known for his elaborate ceramic wall murals, tall 3-D vases, caricature mugs and especially his skill in creating uniquely sculptured pigs.  Bruce operated a studio in Mineral Point, WI for over 30 years and was a lecturer at UW-Platteville for 23 years until his untimely death in 2018.  Bruce's wife, Sue Howdle, is pictured receiving a copy of the plaque which is now posted at the door of the art room where he found inspiration for his life in the art world.

Pictured with Sue, in front of the newly installed display unit with a digital screen featuring a selection of his many commissioned works, are members of the IGEF board.  Front row: Judy Belken, Sue Howdle, Peggy Biddick, Rachel Zimmer, Ron Haas, Kristin Spurley.  Back row: Vicki Langfoss, Fred Skaife, and Dave Kalish.

Pictured below is a photo of Bruce from the 1964 high school annual and then in his later years.  Following are photos from the dedication on May 11, 2022 as well as some of his art work.




50 Year Graduates return for Iowa-Grant graduation ceremony.
L-R: Carlton Austin, Linda Skaife, Victoria Rouse, Bonnie Pluemer, Arlene Gibbon, Barb Novak. back row (l-r) Fred Skaife, Rodney Gard, Keith Liddicoat, Joette Doye, Marion Tomas, Nancy Hale, Bob Bunker, Dave Gibbon, Don Hrubes, Dan Novak, Bob Wagner.

Iowa-Grant has this wonderful tradition of honoring those class members who are celebrating their 50th year since graduating from I-G by introducing them at the ceremony.  Each returning member also receives the book "Iowa-Grant History - The formation of a school district and the 50 years that followed" from the Iowa-Grant Educational Foundation.

Those attending from the Class of 1972: Andrew Hardy, EJ Skaife, Wayne Cordts, Doug Vavricka, Joe Clifton, David Alcott, Debbie Jenks Winkers, Barb Bishop Boldt, Vicki Kenny Kieler, Kathy Wunderlin Lenz, Lori Miller Larson, Sharon Heuer Pete, Rhonda Tremelling Roelli, Susan Cook Pratt, Kerry Johns Greene, Dr. Mark Andrews, LuAnne Loy Moen, Cindi Tomas Harris.